Rockwood School District
111 East North Street, Eureka, MO 63025
Phone (636) 733-2000 · Fax (636) 938-2251
Rockwood School District > District News
Rockwood Teacher Named Missouri Foreign Language Teacher of the Year
Kim Lackey, a Spanish teacher at Eureka High School, has been named the Missouri Distinguished Foreign Language Teacher of the Year by the Foreign Language Association of Missouri (FLAM).  Each year, this award is presented to one outstanding foreign language teacher in the state.  As a recipient of this award, Lackey will compete for the Teacher of the Year title awarded at the Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Language. 

Lackey has taught 13 of her 14 year education career at Eureka High School.  In 2003, she achieved the profession’s top teaching honor, National Board Certification, and in spring of 2012 she applied for recertification under this program.  She also serves as a Candidate Support Provider, helping other educators as they pursue their National Board Certification.   

Jeff Tamaroff, world language content facilitator, described Lackey as an outstanding educator who is committed to improving language instruction and assessment.  “Kim’s dedication to her students inside and outside of school is an example to her fellow educators,” said Tamaroff.  “Her love of the Spanish language and culture is infectious, and we are excited for her to be recognized for her contributions to foreign language learning.” 

Lackey often shares her experiences and knowledge regarding ways to enhance foreign language education at professional conferences.  On Oct. 19-20, she will receive the Distinguished Missouri Foreign Language Teacher of the Year award at the Foreign Language Association of Missouri’s 34th annual conference.      

Bookmark and Share

Missouri Distinguished Foreign Language Teacher of the Year Kim Lackey with Spanish students at Eureka High School.
Front (L-R):  Allison Childs, Katherine Miller, Jessica Devine, Kim Lackey, Margaret Woodward, Miranda Wilkinson, Sarah Neumann
Middle (L-R):  Terra Willard, Holli Briggs, Morgan Fryman, Becca Weitzel, Bailey Stein, Madeline Melvin, Mackenzie Pratt
Back (L-R):  Tommy Kessler, Peyton Ogle, Tommy Westrich, Nick Sullivan, Mason Bendigo, Nathan Hibbard

Photo by Madeline Ketcherside, Eureka High School

 Reader Comments

Commenting is intended as a constructive, open forum. All comments will be reviewed before posting to ensure the text is not abusive and follows the comment guidelines established by the Rockwood School District.

Submit a comment.